The Chakra System: Sacral - Svadhisthana

“When you learn to let thoughts and feelings go without taking them seriously or giving energy to them, you will also develop freedom in daily life.” – Lama Ole Nydahl

There is a parable of two wolves.

One has a coat of black fur, while the other has a coat of white.

The black wolf carries the energy of anger, fear, and greed.

It moves with its head down and ears back, threatening the white wolf.

Its mind, closed to what the white wolf tries to teach it, as it lives in a world of denial and fear.

The white wolf carries the energy of compassion and love.

He stands tall, ears alert, constantly looking for creative ways that he can heal the black wolf’s anger.

They advance on one another, their movement’s fluid, like a dance.

The black wolf having the upper hand, and then the white wolf. Back and forth they go, struggling to win the fight.

These wolves live inside each of us. Their home is our sacral chakra.

The sacral chakra is located two inches below the navel and three centimeters above the root chakra, between the coccyx and the sacrum.

It is our chakra of raw emotion.

Our center for creativity.

The residing home of our sensuality.

Within this chakra dwells all of the complex emotions that we utilize in order for us to be able to navigate our reality.

It is the true essence of our individuality.

The sacral is the second chakra to awaken in this physical life.

It activates at 6 months through 2.5 years. As a child moves from being an infant into a toddler, they also move from the self-absorbed state of the root into the emotional centered state of the sacral.

During this activation, a child is introduced to emotion. They begin bonding with family and friends. They express joy, excitement, love, anger and frustration.

Everything that a child experiences during this activation will be the foundation of this chakra.

These experiences play a large role in the emotional health of an individual, throughout the entirety of life.

Psychologically, the sacral chakra initiates and sustains bonds between ourselves and other people.

It links our emotional reactions with emotional attachment.

When I was a child, my dad and I would go for walks throughout our neighborhood together several times a week.

On these walks, we would watch with keen eyes for money dropped or discarded by unbeknownst patrons of our neighborhood gas station.

We mostly found pennies here and there and if we were lucky, maybe even a quarter or two.

When we would get home, we would put our treasure in a glass building block that served as my coin bank.

We called this the F.M.C., “Found Money Collection”.

Once the glass block was filled to the top, we’d roll all the coins and he would take me to buy ice cream with the money that we had found on the street.

This tradition has long since fallen by the wayside. But still to this day, when I’m out for a run and I see a penny on the ground, this memory jumps to mind and my heart fills with love and joy.

This is the sacral chakras emotional reaction-attachment quality at play.

But its versatility doesn’t stop there.

This chakra also introduces us to our shadow self.

Your shadow self is the piece of your emotional body that stores and reflects the darker aspects of your personality.

The sacral has the power to illuminate our inner shadow so that we have the opportunity to break old self-destructive patterns.

It does this so that we can create new patterns of self-vigilance that will serve us better on our journey.

Often times we perceive the aspects of our shadow self as purely negative. But it holds a purpose for our soul’s evolution.

Carl Jung states, “How can I be substantial if I do not cast a shadow? I must have a dark side also if I am to be whole.”

It is the nature of balance.

Yin and yang.

Light and dark.

Sacral provides us a doorway, so that we can look into the deeper aspects of our emotional body.

There we can meet our shadow in order to see what needs to be balanced and healed.

But, the emotional aspects of our body are not the only ones that this chakra governs.

Chakras generally tend to physical areas of the body surrounding their location.

The sacral is no different, and it manages our reproductive organs and the health of the pelvic bowl in general.

It rules the lower spinal vertebra, most digestive organs including the upper intestines and the appendix and also has influence on certain parts of the kidneys.

Discomfort or dis-ease within these parts of the body is a prime indicator that there is dysfunction of some sort in the sacral chakra.

Some of the main physical symptoms of an imbalanced sacral are:

  • Health issues with the Reproductive System

  • Health issues with the Urinary System

  • Sexual dysfunctions